Edwardian Story Of London

London’s Lord Mayor: 1837-1910

The Lord Mayor of London is an ancient elective office which dates from the reign of Richard the Lionheart. In the intervening eight centuries more than seven hundred men and one woman have held this important post. The City of London has always jealously guarded its independence from the Crown and to this day, within the City, the Lord Mayor is second in Precedence only to the reigning Monarch. This major series of nine articles presents a complete list of the Lord Mayors, arranged chronologically according to the reigns in which they served. This article reviews the political situation of London in Victorian and Edwardian ages, presents the list of Lord Mayors in the reigns of Victoria and Edward VII and assesses the characters of each reign.

Victoria began her reign 20th June 1837
Regnal YearMayorTerm
1st VictoriaJohn Cowan1837-8
2nd VictoriaSamuel Wilson1838-9
3rd VictoriaSir Chapman Marshal1839-40
4th VictoriaThomas Johnson1840-1
5th VictoriaJohn Pirie1841-2
6th VictoriaJohn Humphery1842-3
7th VictoriaWilliam Magnay1843-4
8th VictoriaMichael Gibbs1844-5
9th VictoriaJohn Johnson1845-6
10th VictoriaSir George Carroll1846-7
11th VictoriaJohn Kinnersley Hooper1847-8
12th VictoriaSir James Duke1848-9
13th VictoriaThomas Farncomb1849-50
14th VictoriaJohn Musgrove1850-1
15th VictoriaWilliam Hunter1851-2
16th VictoriaThomas Challis1852-3
17th VictoriaThomas Sidney1853-4
18th VictoriaFrancis G Moon1854-5
19th VictoriaDavid Salomons1855-6
20th VictoriaThomas Finnis1856-7
21st VictoriaSir Robert Carden1857-8
22nd VictoriaDavid Wire1858-9
23rd VictoriaJohn Carter1859-60
24th VictoriaWilliam Cubitt1860-1
25th VictoriaWilliam Cubitt1861-2
26th VictoriaWilliam Rose1862-3
27th VictoriaWilliam Lawrence1863-4
28th VictoriaWarren Hale1864-5
29th VictoriaBenjamin Phillips1865-6
30th VictoriaThomas Gabriel1866-7
31st VictoriaWilliam Allen1867-8
32nd VictoriaJames Lawrence1868-9
33rd VictoriaRobert Besley1869-70
34th VictoriaThomas Dakin1870-1
35th VictoriaSills Gibbons1871-2
36th VictoriaSir Sydney Waterlow1872-3
37th VictoriaAndrew Lusk1873-4
38th VictoriaDavid Stone1874-5
39th VictoriaWilliam Cotton1875-6
40th VictoriaSir Thomas White1876-7
41st VictoriaThomas Owden1877-8
42nd VictoriaSir Charles Whetham1878-9
43rd VictoriaSir Francis W Truscott1879-80
44th VictoriaWilliam McArthur1880-1
45th VictoriaJohn Ellis1881-2
46th VictoriaHenry Knight1882-3
47th VictoriaRobert Fowler1883-4
48th VictoriaGeorge Nottage1884-5
49th VictoriaRobert Fowler
John Staples
50th VictoriaSir Reginald Hanson1886-7
51st VictoriaPolydore de Keyser1887-8
52nd VictoriaJames Whitehead1888-9
53rd VictoriaSir Henry Isaacs1889-90
54th VictoriaSir Joseph Savory1890-1
55th VictoriaDavid Evans1891-2
56th VictoriaStuart Knill1892-3
57th VictoriaGeorge Tyler1893-4
58th VictoriaSir Joseph Renals1894-5
59th VictoriaSir Walter Wilkin1895-6
60th VictoriaGeorge Faudel-Phillips1896-7
61st VictoriaLt Col Horatio Davies1897-8
62nd VictoriaSir John Moore1898-9
63rd VictoriaAlfred Newton1899-00
64th VictoriaFrank Green1900-1
Edward VII began his reign 22 January 1901
Regnal YearMayorTerm
1st Edward VIISir Joseph Dimsdale1901-2
2nd Edward VIISir Marcus Samuel1902-3
3rd Edward VIISir James Ritchie1903-4
4th Edward VIIJohn Pond1904-5
5th Edward VIIWalter Morgan1905-6
6th Edward VIISir William Treloar1906-7
7th Edward VIISir John Bell1907-8
8th Edward VIISir George Truscott1908-9
9th Edward VIISir John Knill1909-10

You can either jump to the list for a specific period or scroll through the entire list sequentially by using the following sets of links:

Visit a Specific Period